Changes to the MOT test, March 2013

There have been some changes to the MOT test this week, which reflect the increased technology in modern vehicles and bring the UK in line with EU standards.

From 20th March 2013 the following test points, which have been on the ‘Advisory’ list since 2012, become failure points:

For Class 4, 5 & 7 vehicles

  • Headlamp levelling and cleaning devices when fitted for HID or LED headlamps
  • Main beam ‘tell-tale’
  • Battery (including batteries for electric or hybrid vehicles)
  • Electrical wiring and connectors
  • Trailer electrical socket security and damage
  • Operation of 13-pin trailer electrical sockets using an approved trailer socket tester
  • Operation of the steering lock (where fitted) including a malfunction warning in respect of an electronic steering lock
  • Electronic power steering malfunction indicator lamp
  • Electronic parking brake control and malfunction indicator lamp
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC) components, including the switch (if fitted) and malfunction indicator lamp
  • Brake fluid warning lamp illuminated or inoperative
  • Tyre Pressure Monitoring Systems (TPMS)
  • SRS components including airbags, seat belt pre-tensioners, seat belt load limiters and SRS malfunction indicator lamp
  • Engine mountings
  • Speedometer
  • Indirect vision devices (where they replace obligatory mirrors)

For more information see Special Notice 01-13 on the Gov.UK website.